Planting Tomato


I have collected seeds from heirloom tomato, which I generally bought for my kitchen stuff. I have taken few seeds and added double the water. kept the container outside of the home and covered with cotton cloth for aeration. After 5 days I can see a layer which is the left over juicy part of tomato. Removed the layer with fork and washed cleanly.

Sowed the seeds in juice containers. Used potting mix as only compost. Seedlings came after 1 week. Bit slow I feel.

Tomato seedlings in juice containers

Tomato Seedlings

What I observed is two of them in each containers are growing fast.  I just cut the remaining seedlings instead of removing which may disturb others. This is the first time I am growing tomatoes, even I am not sure about the growth. I am eagerly waiting to move this to bigger pot. I will post my photos once I move the seedlings to bigger container.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t seem to fully load this post from my smartphone!!!!

    Reply

  2. Thank you for a great post.

    Reply

  3. test blasts are fun…

    I saw this really great post today….

    Reply

Leave a comment